2014 ended in a flurry, but with good news all around.capturecpr

On December 17th I had my first paper published in the Journal of Sustainable Tourism.This paper was one that I started as a Coastal Environmental Management Master’s student. I took Policy Analysis of the Commons course with Xavier Basurto way back in the Fall of 2010 and started this project as a class paper so it was quite rewarding to finally see it published!

I am quite proud of this paper for many reasons, but here are three. 1) Because of how we all stuck it out. I know publishing takes a long time but still I am appreciative everyone hung in there and put up with my persistence on this one. 2) Because it is interdisciplinary. I have always seen science as part of a bigger picture, which was one of the major things that attracted me to the Nicholas School of the Environment and the Marine Lab in the first place. So having worked with social scientists and natural scientists on this paper, made it really rewarding for me and another great product that stemmed from my Master’s work. I was very lucky to have a great set of co-authors along for the ride on this one who made this a great learning experience for me and one that taught me a lot about navigating the publication process. 3) Because of the press surrounding the paper and the effort everyone took to get the message out there (and toget it right!). Dave Johnston and I wrote an opinion piece for the Honolulu Star-Advertiser. We also worked with the Nicholas School and Duke News team on a Press Release that was picked up quite a few different news outlets. You can check out the release here: http://nicholas.duke.edu/news/federal-and-local-action-needed-protect-hawaiis-spinner-dolphins

T2014-12-16 15.33.01hanks to all of these efforts and the many Tweets and posts about the article, Taylor and Francis made the paper free until the end of January. After only a few days the paper was performing as the top paper in the Journal of Sustainable Tourism and within the top 5% of the 3 million articles being tracked by Altimetric. As of today, the article has 480 views!

Here is the link and citation for the paper is below: http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/09669582.2014.986490#tabModule

So that was certainly good news. But there’s more. In the mix of all of this I also found out that my Spring Teaching Assistantship would be the Marine Conservation Biology travel course to Hawaii with one of my committee members Dr. Andy Read. I have been fortunate to have gone to HI three different times for my research, once for a family vacation, and another time for the Marine Conservation Biology travel course to Hawaii and Midway when I was a Master’s student in January 2011. So it seems fitting that I return and come full circle to TA a course that I took as a Master’s student and one that played a large part in staying and pursuing a Ph.D. In addition to TA’ing this course I was also asked by my adviser David Johnston to co-instruct the Marine Megafauna spring course. He is in Antarctica for the first third of the course so I will be stepping in and teaching until the first exam. I am so excited to have this opportunity to be the instructor and look forward to interacting with the students and getting feedback that I can use moving forward. Between the Hawaii course and instructing Megafauna, I couldn’t really ask for a better way to cap off my tenure as a TA.

Yes, I said cap off because on the day after Christmas I also received word that I was awarded a summer research fellowship from the Duke Graduate School. This means, that my stipend for the summer will come from the generosity of the Michael Robison Memorial Fellowship Fund. What this ultimately means is that after after my 10th course, the Hawaii travel course, I will be done! Which is honestly a little bittersweet because I have loved teaching and interacting with the students but mostly sweet because it means that I can finish, publish articles, and set myself up for jobs and life after Duke!2015-01-06 16.52.26

And, add in the fact that the SciREN team received $5,000 from the Kenan Biddle Partnership to work on our web presence and an online network directory!

I would say it was a good end to 2014! Here’s to a happy and productive 2015!

Citation: Heenehan, H., X. Basurto, L. Bejder, J. Tyne, J. E. S. Higham and D. W. Johnston (2014). “Using Ostrom’s common-pool resource theory to build toward an integrated ecosystem-based sustainable cetacean tourism system in Hawai`i.” Journal of Sustainable Tourism: 1-21.

http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/09669582.2014.986490#tabModule

